At 22 years and one day old, the Toyota Gazoo Racing driver becomes the youngest driver in the history of the sport to lift the crown – sweeping aside the record previously held by Colin McRae, who won in 1995 aged 27 years and 89 days.

Sébastien Ogier brought up the rear of the GR Yaris 1-2 while Rovanperä’s main title threat Ott Tänak settled for third overall in a Hyundai i20 N.

More news to follow…